• Donate
    TheWindowsForum.com needs donations to stay online!
    Love TheWindowsForum.com? Then help keep it alive by sending a donation!

QNAP NAS or a Family 8202+01 IBM Power 720 Express Server?

WELCOME TO THEWINDOWSFORUM COMMUNITY!

Our community has more than 63,000 registered members, and we'd love to have you as a member. Join us and take part in our unbiased discussions among people of all different backgrounds about Windows OS, Software, Hardware and more.

Hotrod369

VIP
May 31, 2021
I was planning to upgrade to a QNAP TS-451D2-4G 4 Bay 4K Hardware transcoding NAS with Intel® Celeron® J4025 CPU but a friend who lives several states away has the IBM server in the title that he'll give me if I cover shipping. This is going to be used as a Plex Media server. Should I take the IBM from him or stay with my original plan and get the QNAP NAS? From the info I've found so far on the IBM, it should be able to transcode several streams at once. I've got zero experience with server hardware and don't want to make a bad choice trying to save a couple of bucks.

A NAS is just that, nothing more, nothing less. I have one at the heart of my entertainment system and it feeds a bunch of hardware audio and video throughout my home. It never asks for much, takes very good care of itself on it's own. I check in with it once and a while and it's always well.
Now a server? You can do all kinds of stuff with it. I take it it's a rack mount, do you have a home for it? It's also going to suck up a lot more juice than the NAS if that's a concern. The fans are going to be noisy if that's a concern.
So there's the pro and cons as I see them. Are these both bare offerings? Drive costs can easily exceed the initial hardware costs.