• Donate
    TheWindowsForum.com needs donations to stay online!
    Love TheWindowsForum.com? Then help keep it alive by sending a donation!

Win10 Pro Laptop suddenly cold boots extremely slow

WELCOME TO THEWINDOWSFORUM COMMUNITY!

Our community has more than 63,000 registered members, and we'd love to have you as a member. Join us and take part in our unbiased discussions among people of all different backgrounds about Windows OS, Software, Hardware and more.

WonderWoman

Jan 22, 2016
Hello,

I am a help desk tech with 25 yrs experience so pretty skilled I would say. I am having a sudden issue with my personal laptop. It has recently as in within the past week started taking an unusually long time to get Windows to start from a cold boot. I wind up sitting for approximately 3-5 minutes with just a blank black screen with a solid not blinking underscore as opposed to a blinking vertical cursor. I have been thrilled with my laptop since installing an SSD for the OS disk last year. It has been booting fully into Win10 in one minute or less.

For full disclosure this machine is officially 10 years old as of this year (I found my purchase receipts confirming purchase was 2011) but not really because I have over the 10 years upgraded things.

My General Laptop Specs
HP Pavilion DV7-32bUS
Intel Core i7 running at 2.20 GHz
16GB RAM
2 physical drives
OS Disk = 1TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD
Data Disk = 1TB HGST Travelstar 5K1000 HTS541010A9E680 (0J22413) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive
OS = Windows 10 Pro

I am attaching the full export from my sysinfo.

I keep the machine up to date on all Windows Updates and virus and malware is Malware Bytes and I keep it up to date also.

If you need me to provide any other specific details please advise me what will help track this anomaly down and fix it.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Wonder Woman

Attachments

• HP DV7 Sys Info Specs.txt
    1.4 MB · Views: 11